School Days

If you’ve never been running down the street at 6:30 in the morning, when it’s still dark and cold outside, then you won’t understand the adrenaline rush you get when a car is swerving down the road and then starts coming straight at you.
Instinct 1)
jump sideways onto the snowbank and risk breaking an ankle when you hit ice and fall on your face.
Instinct 2)
wave your arms like a maniac and maintain course

Out of the two options my sister Tandis chose the first….I chose the second.
Needless to say, I’m still alive and did not acquire fatal injuries caused from a ridiculous auto driver.
Oh the trials of a runner.

Please:
watch out for runners

Thank you!

That being said…

I had a day off work today. What joy!

After an almost suicidal two mile run with my sister I decided to take on the even more daunting task of helping her homeschool her girls for the morning.

Let me tell you….being a stay-at-home-Mamma is not for the faint of heart! If anyone ever says that homeschooling moms (who don’t have jobs outside of the home) don’t “work” will personally get punched in the face by myself!
I got to experience, yet again, the fun of being auntie and not Mamma. That means I get to leave whenever I want to! And for those of you who either:
a) have kids
or
b) babysit kids
Will know why getting away from them is incredibly important to your mental health!

Kids wake up and immediately have entirely too much energy.
Five minutes after getting back from our run, Molly woke up [6:45am] and promptly wants to show me what she can do.

phone photos 1511

Very impressive!

So of course younger sisters have to impress auntie too….

phone photos 1513

With some help from oldest sister, Mia..

phone photos 1512

Then more quality auntie time while Mamma takes a shower

phone photos 1517 phone photos 1515
phone photos 1519

Goofs!

Then down to business.
Schoolwork for the second grader, Mia:
phone photos 1521

And the first grader, Molly:

phone photos 1520

The two trouble makers, Jeta and Jayla, wreaking havoc wherever they go!
phone photos 1526 phone photos 1524
And always together.    =]
phone photos 1523

Don’t mind the mess….
stay-at-home-Mammas have priorities: school first, then clean up mess that youngest two leave behind during school hours.
This is Mia practicing her piano lesson
phone photos 1527

Auntie inspects the last piece of schoolwork:
phone photos 1528

Good job, miss Molly!! First grade writing but fundamental truth!

 And you shall love the Lord your God
with all your heart,
with all your soul,
with all your mind,
and with all your strength.’
This is the first commandment.”
Mark 12:30
 

3 responses to “School Days

  1. Hahaha. it was fun to have you over for part of our day. The run was nice too except for the wild car driver. You might clarify though that I did not break an ankle or fall on the ice as I half hopped into a snowbank whilst you waved your arms like a maniac. 😉 Of the two, my option was safer than staying in the road. 🙂 You’re welcome to come any day off you. I need to get my tail back running so you can start nagging me about that too. 🙂

  2. Or perhaps you could skip running abreast for the choppy, incoherent, gasping conversation, and run on the sidewalk that the Sheboygan taxpayer provided you with to prevent such tragic ends??? 🙂

    • It wasn’t all that bad…I took some writing liberty and enhanced the truth just slightly to sound more dramatic. And we couldn’t run on the sidewalks because they’re covered in ice.

Leave a comment